Uber and Lyft Accidents
Representing Clients Injured in Rideshare Accidents
Millions of people use their smartphones to request rides from Uber and Lyft drivers each day. Within a matter of minutes, a driver will arrive and take you to your destination while payment happens automatically through the phone app. Rideshare services are highly convenient and have changed the transportation industry. However, all of these benefits also come with the risk of accidents and injuries.
Uber and Lyft vehicles can be involved in crashes like any other type of vehicle. When a crash occurs, the resulting legal claims can be complex, and it can be difficult to know who can be held liable for your injury-related losses. At Carman, Bevington & Finegan, P.A., we help clients take the right steps following an Uber or Lyft accident and handle the complicated claim process for them. Don’t hesitate to contact our office to discuss how our attorneys can help you.
Florida Laws for Rideshare Safety
In 2017, Florida passed a law setting out many statewide requirements for rideshare companies, also known as “transportation network companies.” This law set out requirements for eligible rideshare drivers, including:
- The company must receive an application with detailed information including a driver’s license number and vehicle registration number
- The company must perform a state and national background and driving history check and may not approve drivers who have:
- More than three moving violations in the last year
- A felony offense, misdemeanor DUI or reckless driving conviction, or violent or sex-related misdemeanor in five years
- Driving on a suspended or revoked license within three years
- A match on the National Sex Offender Public Website
- No valid license or registration.
These eligibility restrictions are intended to keep passengers safe from both driving violations and acts of violence. When Uber or Lyft hire potentially dangerous drivers, the companies should be held liable if those drivers cause injuries.
Florida Insurance Requirements
Florida requires every driver to maintain minimum insurance coverage. However, the new law mandated specific insurance requirements for rideshare drivers. If the driver does not have the adequate coverage, the rideshare company must have a policy that covers the driver and passengers. Minimum requirements are as follows:
- When a driver is logged into the system but not currently involved in a prearranged ride - $25,000 for property damage, $50,000 for injuries or death to one person, and $100,000 for injuries and death to everyone involved in a single accident.
- When a driver is involved in a prearranged ride (picking up or transporting a passenger) -$1 million for property damage, injuries, or death.
Liability for Uber and Lyft Accidents
Liability for rideshare crashes will depend on who caused the accident and whether the driver was picking up or transporting a passenger or not. If there was no prearranged ride set, the driver’s own insurance should cover the crash. If the driver was involved in a prearranged ride, losses should be covered by either the driver’s insurance, the rideshare company’s insurance, or a combination of both. In some cases, a third-party driver may cause a crash, which would make that driver liable for any injuries.
Discuss Your Situation with Our Brandon Uber and Lyft Accident Attorneys
Uber and Lyft accident claims can be confusing. However, there are laws in place that protect passengers and help ensure they will receive the compensation they deserve. Our legal team at Carman, Bevington & Finegan, P.A. know how to stand up for the rights of clients injured in rideshare accidents, so please contact us onlineor call 813-654-3444 for a free case evaluation today.